1882; The Fifth Annual General Meeting of the Limerick Amateur Athletic & Bicycle Club was held in the Athenaeum on Monday Evening Last. The Following Gentlemen were elected officers for the ensuing year – J Matterson J.P. – President , Vice Presidents – A W Shaw J.P.  ; Windham Gabbett J.P. ; C B Barrington  J.P. ; E Conway , R De Ros Rose  J.P. ; Andrew Murray . Committee  – C Croker , T S Deane, J McNamara,  J O Grady Delmege , Octavius Wallace, W Beaumont ,  E J Meade , Bruce Murray, S Steward , H A Earls captain of Bicycle Club , H L Stewart  hon. treasurer , R Fry (re-elected ) ; hon secretary , C H Gubbins. The meeting was a great success and the reports show the club to be in a flourishing condition having  a good balance on hand since last year.The committe complimented several members on the manner in which they attended and carried off  prizes at several meetings all over Ireland last year , thus keeping up the honour and prestige of the club.

Great Treble for Bernie Hartigan; Bernie fresh from his National League Victory with Limerick Hurlers, collected no fewer than 6 medals at County Limerick Senior Track & Field Championships under BLE Rules at Salesian College Pallaskenry on 05 June 1971. The powerful All Rounder scored an excellent treble winning the Shot, Discus & Hammer. He was barely pipped in the Javelin by Derek Casey, and also finished as Runner Up in 56lb for Both Distance & Height. Noel Spellacy , who returned from London to compete , won the 200m in facile fashion and later finished 2nd. in 400m . An impressive winner of the 400m was John Foley , who completed a commendable double by romping home in the 800m in 1.58.0. Dick Power won the 1500m in 4.08.7. Margaret O Connor was the dominant figure in the Ladies Section scoring a fine Double when winning both the 100m & 400m . Pauline Goodwin won the Shot.

Bernie Hartigan wins Discus Gold Medal; as well as Silver Medal in the Hammer and memorable 5000m triumph for Neil Cusack at the All Ireland BLE Senior T & F Championships at Santry Stadium – 17 July 1971. Dick Power qualified easily for 1500m final but was one of a trio that was brought down early in the  final. John Foley was another to show up well at the tests. He finished 3rd. in the 800m behind Noel O Carroll . Foley`s time was 1.53.6 . John Fahy finished 5th. in a time of 1.56.6.

At Last –  Limerick AC win the Omega National League – 30 June 1979; The Club was runner up on 4 out of the last 5 occasions – Limerick AC won by the narrowest of margins – 93 points, just a half of point more than Dublin City Harriers and Crusaders 3rd. with 90 points. Limerick AC`s five winners on the day were – Pat Shine(100m) , Tim Crowe (400m) , Mick O Shea (1500m) , Bernie Hartigan (Discus) & Derek Casey (Javelin ) . Other Limerick AC Results were – Frank O Mara 3rd. (800m) , Pat Shine 2nd. (200m) , Robert Costelloe 2nd. (5000m) , Bernie Hartigan 3rd. (Shot Putt) & Limerick AC 3rd. (4X100m Relay ). See Gallery – Archive for Photo of The Winning Limerick AC Team.

See Photos from The Archive of LAC – Old Newspaper Clipings at http://picasaweb.google.com/photos.eos