LAC’s Rachel best in Limerick and in Munster’s top ten following Nationals

November 25, 2014 in Cross Country Meeting, Cross Country Results, Results by Brian O'Connor

Rachel Hosey

LIMERICK Athletic Club’s Rachel Hosey is Limerick’s number one U14 Girl in cross country running for 2014.

She also secured the position as one of Munster’s top ten juvenile cross country athletes following her fantastic performance at the Glo Health Even Age Inter County Cross Country Championships held at Dundalk IT on Sunday November 23, 2014.

Rachel ran an impressive race across the course, she was challenged throughout, yet remaining calm and collected she held her position to finish in the first third of athletes from across the island of Ireland.

Of the almost 150 juvenile athletes who qualified for this national event by their placing positions at county and provincial level, Rachel’s consistent performance ensured that she is the top cross country athlete of her age to emerge from Limerick and her achievements have placed her among Munster’s top ten.  This included a silver medal at the Munster Juvenile 3000m on October 26 which earned LAC an elusive podium finish for the category.

Limerick Athletic Club wish to congratulate Rachel on her successful cross country season and the entire community of LAC athletes and coaches are immensely proud of the deserving accolades awarded to her during 2014.


Turner gold and team silver at senior men’s cross country

November 17, 2014 in Cross Country Meeting, Cross Country Results, Results by Brian O'Connor

Colm_Turner_limerickac - library photo

by Brian O’Connor

LIMERICK AC athlete Colm Turner took gold at the Senior Men’s, Limerick County Athletics Board’s final event of the cross country season at University of Limerick, Sunday, November 16, 2014.

The ten kilometre race was run with ideal atmospheric conditions – cold and dry – while underfoot conditions proved more difficult varying from sticky in large parts to firm in places. The athletes found the short steep hill trickier to negotiate as the laps increased. Thirteen LAC athletes lined out in the 40 strong field.

Turner’s race was described as a master class in maximising use of strength, endurance, tact and perseverance over difficult terrain, LAC Coach PJ O’Rourke said: “Colm was 20 metres behind West Limerick’s Niall O’Callaghan for the first three kilometres or so. He fought back and took command of the race at the four kilometre mark and managed to stretch his lead over the next six kilometres crossing the line almost 150 metres ahead of O’Callaghan. Bilbao’s Declan Moore held third position throughout.”

Limerick AC’s Paul Fitzgerald, Martin Doody and Mark Guerin came home in sixth, seventh and eight respectively and with those positions LAC amassed a total of 22 points in the team event, narrowly missing out to West Limerick’s 20 points. LAC would like to congratulate West Limerick AC on their team’s success.

Limerick AC athletes Joe Coffey, Keith Ryan and Vincent O’Brien finished just outside of the points while Dave Beary, Keith Daly and Mike Lynch followed up in quick succession with Brian O’Sullivan, Tony O’Donovan and Pat O’Riordan forming the final batch of LAC runners to cross the finish line leaving one quarter of the field behind them.

In the senior women’s race, West Limerick AC’s Caroline Hayes took gold from Dooneen’s Tracey Roche Johnson and following closely into bronze position was Noelle Fitzgerald from West Limerick AC who also won the team event.

The event was hosted by Limerick Athletic Club, who provided volunteers, marshals and stewards. Limerick County Athletics Board has expressed its gratitude to Daniel Gallagher, Pat O’Riordan, Ray McInerney, Gwynne Ryan and PJ O’Rourke who laid out the course and assisted at the event. LAC vice-chairman Tom Foley was thanked in absentia by the board for the “much appreciated tea and sandwiches” which followed.



Great Fun at St Michaels Rowing Club Run – LAC Results

October 7, 2014 in Road Results by James Prendeville

Limerick AC had a good number of athletes taking part with many fine performance. Vincent O’ Brien produced a great run to claim 5th place in a time of 35:29 in the 10k closely followed home by Mike lynch in 36:42. Two of our master athetes Pat O’Riordan and Tony O’Donovan came in together in new PB of 39:14. Brian O’Sullivan just came in behind the guys in 40:14. Well done to all the guys.
Ethna Prendeville ran a very credible 10k in a time of 57:27 and Mary Cronin the oldest female that took part ran 1:03:46. Congratulations to both.
Limerick AC had more athletes in the 5K run where Stephen O’Donovan came in 2nd closely followed by coach Dave Ryan. Lucy lane came 3rd followed home by Sandra Ryan. Well done to all our athletes. - Thanks to LAC Reporter P.J. O’Rourke
1902727_696892473732645_2515833991003298570_n 10154192_696892483732644_2434008765398565375_n 10426887_696891653732727_319642297525328080_n 10616326_696891667066059_5749606505587264651_n 10626549_696892493732643_6542916872270037179_n


September 16, 2014 in Road Results by James Prendeville

Frequent UseLimerick AC Weekend Results – 
1st Paul Fitzgerald – Zimmer 10 Mile Run 
4th Mike Lynch – Doon 10k
12th Joe Coffey – Cork City 10 Mile (overall 12th) 

Results courtesy of Daniel Gallagher 

Well done lads super results from all at Limerick AC

Community Games National Finals 23rd August-U14 Relay

August 25, 2014 in Track & Field Results by James Prendeville

LAC Athlete Caoimhe Ryan competed on Saturday for the u14 Limerick Relay Team in Athlone.  28 counties competed with Limerick getting through their morning heat and they just missed out on a spot in the semi final finishing 5th with only four qualifying for final, Coaimhe ran second leg in both races.

Well done to Caoimhe from all at LAC!