EAA Mountain Running Championships Trial

February 23, 2018 in Latest News by Mark Guerin

Would you like to represent Ireland in the European Mountain Running Championships this year?

Trial Race:
This race is open to all IMRA members (€10 per year). Please note you cannot purchase Membership on the day, this must be done through www.imra.ie. Race fee can be paid on day or online. Selection will be based upon form at trial as well as other factors.
Seniors will run a 10km up and down course.
Juniors will run a 5km up and down course.
The trial follows IMRA race rules and all competitors MUST carry a rain jacket. Also race numbers MUST be visible at finish line (worn). Trail runners are strongly advised as surface will be slick if there is moisture.
Euro Championships are on the 1st of July in Skopje, Macedonia.
Please keep a watch on imra.ie and MMRA facebook for follow up information.

Criteria of Selection:
Selection will be carried out on the following basis.

1. Performance in any trial race held by the association. Target times will be set for trial races, those runners completing the race quicker than this time will be considered for selection according to the order they finish. Runners will be considered for selection in order of their finishing position on the day, with those finishing 1st being considered 1st for selection. Achieving the target time is not a guarantee of selection.
Where no runners complete the race within the target time the selection committee may, at their discretion, select athletes who ran the trial in order to complete a team, develop promising newcomers to hill running or account for particularly tough weather or course conditions on the day of the trial.
2. Performance in alternative races to the trial race will be considered only where the athlete has contacted the selectors in advance, via email to selection@imra.ie, to inform them of their inability to attend the trial race and agreed with the selection committee an alternative race to be used to judge form at the time of the trial race.
3. In all circumstances the selection committee will have the option to select full teams, individual athletes or no athletes for a championship. When making final selections the selection committee will consider the panel of runners available, the financial backing available to support any athletes that may qualify for selection and the potential for success of a team made up from the available runners. Only when the funding is available and athletes of sufficient standard are available will individuals or teams be selected.

Survey from Athletics Limerick

February 21, 2018 in Important Notices by Mark Guerin

Please see attached below a survey from Athletics Limerick which we encourage any senior athletes plus the parents of our juvenile members to take. It takes only a few minutes to complete and can be found @ the following link.
If you cannot access it on the website then go to limerick AC Facebook page – thank you.


Garvey’s impressive result at The Senior Championship.

February 18, 2018 in Results by Gwynne Ryan

Adrian Garvey got his first taste at National Senior Championship level today in Abbotstown and took 9th place in the Shot putt on the second day of events with a throw of 11.32m.

Well done done Adrian from all in Limerick AC.


Fratorolli takes Silver medal in Nationals.

February 17, 2018 in Important Notices, Latest News by Gwynne Ryan

Alana Fratorolli has taken Silver Medal in the Shot Putt @ the National Senior Indoor Championships in Abbotstown today with another one of her great throw of 12.72m. Fantastic to see Alana continuing to put down the hard training and growing even more as an athlete.

Well done Alana from all in Limerick AC.

Gorgeous Gort 5km race

February 12, 2018 in Road Results by Mark Guerin

Well done to Colm Turner who won the Gorgeous Gort 5km race in 16:20 yesterday in Galway, followed by Hilkka Kontro who came 2nd in the Women’s category in 19:07.